The Cook Scholarship Program was established in 1973 by the late Frank Hervey Cook, a lifelong Montana resident and a 1919 graduate of St. Paul's School. The scholarship provides funding for tuition costs at St. Paul's School to worthy Montana boys and girls. In addition, financial assistance is given to scholarship recipients for the associated costs of attending the college of their choice.

As part of this opportunity, Cook Scholars are expected to give back to Montana through a minimum commitment of 80 hours of community service to benefit their home state, along with an additional summer of sevice to their home communities, between acceptance to St. Paul's School and the summer following their sophomore year of college.

Since 1973, more than 76 students traveled from Montana to St. Paul's as Cook Scholars and two as Hervey Scholars, and their successes have been noteworthy. They represent a wide range of cities and towns, and winners come from every imaginable location in the state. This is truly a scholarship opportunity for all Montana students.

Montana boys and girls currently in the eighth, ninth, or tenth grades may apply for a Cook Scholarship. To determine the qualifications of candidates, recommendations of principals and teachers, school records, an entrance examination, and completion of the St. Paul's School application are essential parts of the admission procedure. The required entrance examination is the Secondary School Admissions Test ( administered by the Educational Testing Service in December or January of the school year prior to admission. All application materials must be submitted by January 15.

All Montana students who apply to St. Paul's are automatically considered for the Cook Scholarship. Students are selected on the basis of character and academic accomplishment. Cook Scholarship finalists are selected by the St. Paul's School admission office and then interviewed in Helena, Montana, by the Cook Scholarship Board of Trustees. The Board also includes Montana residents, former Cook Scholars, and a representative of St. Paul's School.


Eric Jacobsen ’83, Park City, Utah
Alex Blake ’92, Big Timber, Mont.
Marett Taylor ’90, Lake Forest, Ill.
Joe Jessepe, Browning Mont.
Lilly Corning ’09, Billings, Mont.
Jael Kampfe ’88, Bearcreek, Mont.
Scott Hughes P’20, Stanford, Mont.
Seth Schelin ’92, London
Mark Etchart P’15,’18,’21, Helena, Mont.


List of 1 members.