The Gallery
In September of 2018 St. Paul’s School officially opened the new Crumpacker Gallery. The state-of-the-art gallery is located on the upper level of the building once known as Freeman Student Center. It features a modern, spacious, two-level design. The extensively renovated building is also home to a climate-controlled collection storage area and two fine arts classrooms.
As a teaching gallery, the Crumpacker Gallery features exhibitions which coincide with topics and techniques taught in the fine arts curriculum. Exhibiting artists are invited to take part in the Visiting Artists Program where they give community-wide gallery talks and spend class time in the fine arts studios. The gallery schedule includes four major shows a year, featuring works from both well-known and up-and-coming painters, sculptors, photographers, illustrators and collectors. Faculty and student works are also shown annually.

2018 Crumpacker Gallery Schedule

The Works of Tom Barrett, Leni Mancuso Barrett and Kedron Barrett
A tribute to past faculty members Tom Barrett and Leni Mancuso Barrett who were instrumental in establishing the arts at St. Paul's School
September 21 - October 20

Illustrator David Petersen
Featuring finished drawings as well as conceptual sketches, the works included in this show will explore Petersen’s evolution from an art student to a professional illustrator and author. David Petersen is the creator of the award-winning comic book series Mouse Guard. He also co-created The Plotmasters Project, where he revisits and revises old projects with fellow artist Jesse Glenn.
January 11 - February 23

Annual Faculty Exhibition
Featuring works by Colin Callahan, Charlie Lemay, Brian Schroyer, Rebecca Soderberg, Nanda Soderberg, Leigh Kaulbach, and Gabriel Avis
March 28 - June 1

Past Exhibitions at St. Paul's School
The Crumpacker Gallery succeeds the Hargate Gallery as St. Paul’s School’s public art gallery. Between 1967 and 2015 Hargate Gallery hosted over three hundred exhibitions. Past exhibitions featured works by artists such as Robert Motherwell, Jacob Lawrence, Andrew Wyeth, Milton Avery, Gerry Williams, Arthur Dove, Eugene Atget, Jerry Uelsmann, Winnie Owens-Hart, Joyce Tenneson, Fritz Scholder, Zhu Qizhan and Thomas Buechner.

Gallery Hours
During shows the gallery is open to the public Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday 9 am - 3 pm and Wednesday and Saturday 9 am - 12 pm.

Contact Information
Telephone: (603) 229-4644