The 2018 St. Paul’s School Alumni Association Annual Meeting took place on Tuesday, April 17, 2018 at the DoubleTree by Hilton, New York City, with nearly 100 SPS alumni and staff in attendance. At the meeting, Rector Mike Hirschfeld ’85, P’14,’17 and Board of Trustees President Archie Cox ’58 provided an update on the School and which was followed by a question and answer session, largely focusing on the search for the next rector.

The 2018 Alumni Association Awards were presented to Lee Cummings Rhodes ’81 and the Form of 1970. The Alumni Association Award is the highest distinction bestowed on an alumna or alumnus by the Association. Its recipients are those living alumni who, through outstanding service, have improved the quality of life in a community on a local, national, or global level.

Lee Cummings Rhodes ’81 is the founder and owner of glassybaby, a company that sells hand-blown glass votive tea light holders. Through the purchase of a glassybaby, “10 percent of every sale is donated to the glassybaby white light fund to help people, animals, and the planet heal.” To date, glassybaby has donated over $8 million to a variety of charities.

The Form of 1970 was honored for founding SPS Sparks: a social entrepreneurship network for sparking ideas, communication, and activities. Sparks service events offer the entire SPS community – alumni, students, faculty, staff, and parents – occasions to serve in unison, while sharing their stories and ideas. Steve Crandall and George Host accepted the award on behalf of the entire form.

In addition to presenting the Alumni Association Awards, we received an update on the Alumni Fund from Tracey Perkins, Director of Alumni Giving and Relations. Please see the update as of April 12, 2018 below.
FY2018        $3,348,230
FY2017        $2,807,128
Difference   $541,102

FY2018        26.9%
FY2017        26.3%
Difference   0.3%
This year’s Alumni Association Annual Meeting was a success and we thank everyone who helped put the meeting together and those who attended. Please remember that you can now nominate 2019 Alumni Association Award Recipients here:
Thank you from all of us at St. Paul’s School!